On September 11, 1923, the so-called Triple Alliance was formed between Basque, Catalan, and Galician nationalists when they signed an agreement in the city of Barcelona (Catalonia). Signed on the same date commemorating the fall of Barcelona to Spanish Bourbon forces in 1714 under the reign of Felipe V (which then became the national day of Catalonia), the Basques, Catalans, and Galicians agreed on a goal of the liberation of the three historical territories and demanded of the Spanish government their full rights as sovereign nations. However, Spanish unionists and conservatives reacted harshly to this nationalist movement. Two days later, on September 13, military officer Miguel Primo de Rivera carried out a coup d’état and imposed a dictatorship in Spain that lasted until 1930, when he resigned his position.


The emblem of the alliance between the Basques, Galicians, and Catalans

Every Friday we look into our Basque archives for interesting historic events that happened on the same day.